Clear all

[Solved] Stepper motor set up?

11 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
Cyberplod
Topic starter
(@cyberplod)

At default 6400 step config settings I get  a scan which, while object curves can be identified, consists of multiple images. Checked reference of stepper motor in kit and found it was 1.8 dev (200 step) rather than the expected 0.9 /400. Reduced setting to 3200 and then got duplicate scan. At 1600 get a recognisable image but low resolution. My background is computers, not board level electronics, so am stuck at present. Stepper driver is TMC2209 with stealth thing. I am finding references that might suggest that something needs to be jumpered / bridged, but I think this is the time to reach out and ask for any assistance that can be offered.

Twin laser setup, calibrated to death, all solder joints double checked

10 Replies
Danilo0702
(@danilo0702)
Reputable Member
Posted by: @cyberplod

At default 6400 step config settings I get  a scan which, while object curves can be identified, consists of multiple images. Checked reference of stepper motor in kit and found it was 1.8 dev (200 step) rather than the expected 0.9 /400. Reduced setting to 3200 and then got duplicate scan. At 1600 get a recognisable image but low resolution. My background is computers, not board level electronics, so am stuck at present. Stepper driver is TMC2209 with stealth thing. I am finding references that might suggest that something needs to be jumpered / bridged, but I think this is the time to reach out and ask for any assistance that can be offered.

Twin laser setup, calibrated to death, all solder joints double checked

can you take a picture of your stepper and post your config file here. What version of the software are you using? I am asking because I had similar problems with the last stable version.

you can try: https://fabscan.org/community/latest-release/easy-change-of-the-version/#post-1730

leonnoel
(@leonnoel)
Trusted Member

Here is what I think I know on the subject.